top of page
  • Writer's pictureMizz J

Why every Mompreneur should download the FREE Evernote APP









Reflecting back in 2017.

 

Okay, so I moved across the states and now what?


With so many things and millions of scattered thoughts going through my mind, it brings me peace to have discovered this wonderful app called Evernote. Where I can be at ease that I have all my important documents right at my fingertips in this difficult transition.


I have used Evernote for a long time now, but I remember many times before when I was at the doctor's office or doing important errands and I forgot the paperwork at home and now I have to make a second trip. Yes, that ughh feeling that we all go through as a mother when we are dealing with life challenges and trying to get it together. So regardless of how many times we try to be organized, we all have that one moment where we are like "Darn I forgot the paperwork." So with all the life chaos, we need to deal with, especially in multi-task mode, this app is a serious lifesaver.


So Evernote is a cross-platform app that serves many purposes—is a digital file cabinet, the perfect note-taking tool, a daily journal with reminders, task or project management system for personal or business use. Not to forget a great recipe-keeper, and voice recorder for those quick on the go-have no time to type it down moments while at the grocery or on the run.


So yes, every time I do errands it becomes essential to take a picture of the document or receipt for that just in case I need it later or worse I can't find that "paper" when I need it. Think about it, what if the worst of the worst, there is a fire or there is an emergency and need to evacuate? To have all of your important documents saved in one place where you can not only just access them anywhere but also email or share them anywhere when needed.



Because it has so many uses and different features, Evernote can both appeal to a lot of people and feel like overkill to others. So I can ramble about this app that I swear to and amazes me how many people have never heard of it.


Once you try it and use it, you will recommend it to family and friends, guaranteed.


So here below are 10 reasons why you should try it and the best part is FREE!


 

1. Available anytime and anywhere While I often use Evernote on my laptop, I can also access everything from my smartphone and tablet. Evernote is a secure, cloud-based system that gives me easy, anytime, anywhere access. And if I don’t have an internet connection, I can still get to the information downloaded on my desktop version of Evernote.


2. Easy to use! This awesome organization tool is so easy to use I put everything in it. I’m not tempted to rely on my memory. After all, a to-do list and other reference lists are only helpful to the extent that they are used. Evernote makes this easy.


3. Stores all sorts of information... Evernote allows me to do so much more than creating a to-do list. I have all sorts of lists in Evernote: research notes, book lists, and ever-changing kids’ shoe sizes. I can paste in links and data. I don’t have to worry about losing or misplacing bits of information.


4. Helps to plan projects... Evernote allows me to create notes for each of my projects. Whether I’m organizing a client event or coordinating one of my children’s birthday parties, Evernote allows me to keep all of the little planning details in one place.


5. Organize information using notebooks... Evernote is truly a virtual filing cabinet. I have a gazillion different notes related to research, projects, reference material, etc. So it helps to be able to organize them into notebooks.


My notebooks are:



1. Home (for my main to-do list);
2. Reading (for all of the articles that I want to read);
3. Book Notes (where I store all sorts of research that I want to incorporate);
4. Productivity Boot Camp (where I track all of the program details);
5. Reference (for all sorts of lists like books that I want to read);
6. Personal (where I track errands, family projects, etc.)
7. Archive (where I dump notes that I no longer need ready access to)

6. Sharing Evernote allows me to share notebooks with specific people. And while this feature is available on the free version, you can be upgraded to Evernote Premium. This version allows for two-way editing once you have shared the notebook.


7. Pictures, yes...Evernote allows me to store pictures, audio files, and videos. If I was limited to just text or documents, it just wouldn’t cut it.


8. Updates automatically I hate to admit it, but I have not always been the best at backing up. And the thought of losing key information pains me. Thankfully, my lists will be spared this tragedy. Through the magic of Evernote, they have backed up automatically.


9. Not distracting! I love that this tool is separate from my email, Twitter, Facebook, etc. I like my social media, but I also find it can be distracting. With Evernote, I can quickly jot down a note without running the risk of getting side-tracked.


10. Email Forwards I love to read blogs but find it hard to keep up with them all when they come into my email inbox. Evernote allows me to automatically forward specific emails to a notebook. This way, I can access my reading file any time I have a few minutes to spare.


So hopefully I at least convinced you to check it out, trust me you will LOVE it.

A Mommy's great secret!



oxoxox,

Mizz J.






Comments


bottom of page